Death in Facebook

Yesterday was the  birthday of a friend who had died a year ago but his Facebook pretends to be  celebrating his birthday. I too have celebrated it , not with a happy birthday wish but with  just remembering. I pretend he is still around. He may not be playing Farmville and pestering others to join. But for me  he is still on the other side of the cyber space. An open-ended presence in space-time. Actually it suits me to believe he exists somewhere. Especially it is my turn now to be dead in Facebook, being only  a year older than him.

When I had returned from a girl’s death a few days ago I saw another Facebook account missing from Lousiana. His Facebook ,complete with pages and groups is missing. Look what happens behind one’s back. These days you cannot be away from the Facebook even for one day. Now ,all I see is a Facebook stub managed by sons who have already changed his going to an event.

Leave a Reply

